What I’m Reading and Writing

I’m actually reading two things right now. Childhood’s End, by Arthur C. Clarke, and The Kraken, by China Mieville. The latter I am enjoying immensely. Typical insane Mieville and reminds me why I love reading his books so much. The former is very interesting and I wanted to read it based on having watched the Syfy miniseries based on the book.

What I’m writing is far more exciting, at least to me.

I’ve decided to put my 2nd book in a drawer for a while. It got a lot of good responses from agents, but I don’t think it’s what they’re looking for right now.

I’ve started a series. And omg, you all….. I really love writing it. I don’t care if it gets published.*

It’s an urban fantasy about a woman who’s a Witch in a world where there are no more boundaries between what we know as Earthly life and the spirit world. So your nanny might be an Angel and your taxi driver might be a Vampire.

I have five books outlined as of the weekend and I want to finish outlining before I start writing the second book. Someone warned me not to fall into the trap many series writers fall into where you don’t have an end in mind and just keep writing your way through it, hoping the end will show up for you.

I can’t tell you how fun it is to invent this world. I love thinking about how, if there are no boundaries, what will that mean for politics? Religion? Daily life?

Coincidentally, Childhood’s End is kind of the same thread, although it’s aliens, not supernatural beings. So it’s cool to read how another person envisioned such an event.

I’m building my list of agents to query, and I’ve sent a couple out.

*Total hyperbole. I want it published for reals.

 

Here’s the query letter for this book, in case you were wondering:

 

Twenty years ago, the veil between worlds dropped and now Humans co-mingle with everything from Pixies to Vampires. Now you can book a trip to Hell as easily as you can go to Las Vegas and your waitress might be a Demon. For better or for worse, Supernormals are part of Earth life.

Five years ago, Tessa Reddick was wrongly convicted of killing her entire family with fire – 37 Witches from one of the most powerful covens in history. She’s been at Lakeland Psych hospital, still grieving and mad as hell at whoever put her there.

Today, a handsome FBI agent springs Tessa from the joint – but there’s a price. A series of murders is picking off Others and the feds need the help of the last known Reddick Witch.

Determined to learn who had it in for her family, help solve the crimes, and maybe get closer to her mysterious (and seriously hot) Dark Elf partner, Tessa is more than willing to play Nancy Drew.

But Tessa has few friends left and something is coming for her, too – maybe the one who framed her and killed her coven, or perhaps a new foe with a taste for Witch’s blood.

Dirty Work is an urban fantasy complete at 80,000 words: think Dresden Files meets X-Files with bourbon. It can stand on its own and has series potential.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

1 Comment

  1. I just read your ‘getting fired moving on post…loved it. You might remember Sunday Night syndrome that teachers have – your post is awesome and it’s blown my anxiety about Monday to bits.
    Best of luck on your novel series…i wrote 39 queries a couple years ago for my own book (Kid at School – Rob LaDue) it’s on amazon free if you have prime. Sold one copy😉 Just started a new blog slammingfood,com – the concept is gluten free cooking for guys.

Leave a Reply

