My First Workshop

In a few weeks, there is a writing workshop here in my hometown. I’m all signed up and paid to go, get a query critique, and have a 10-minute visit with two different agents.

I’m feeling really nervous! This will be my first REAL SRS workshop. I’m not counting college/crit groups or grad school. I did A.C. Crispin’s workshop at DragonCon a few years ago, and it was so-so. I’m glad I went and did it, but I don’t think I’d go again. (There’s a post about that experience somewhere on here but I am entirely too lazy to look it up right now.) So that kind of doesn’t count, either.

I don’t know what to expect. I’ve asked my Real Writer Friend (TM) how I should approach this and what it would be like. I asked, “What do I do? Am I supposed to do a dramatic reading of my query letter? Is interpretive dance encouraged? And do homemade bourbon balls count as bribery?”

(I really hope I can do the dramatic reading. Possibly WHILE eating the bourbon balls, because duh liquid courage and it’s the state beverage here and if it isn’t it SHOULD BE.)

I’m trying to get myself into further editing mode before I hit this workshop. There are a couple of parts I really want to change. But I’m not motivated. For a couple of reasons.

1. I’m working on a totally new series and I’m loving it so stinking much that I don’t even want to bother with anything else. It’s like having a new baby and a teenager. I just want to hang out with the new baby, rearrange it’s blankets, tell it I love it. The teenager…eh…can take care of itself by now.

2. I’m afraid of putting a lot of effort into the manuscript then having it passed over completely forever. There. I said it. Scared to fail and scared to succeed, all right there.

So I started printing out the old ms. I like working analog sometimes. It forces me to stay focused rather than flitting around the pages getting distracted. I like marking the hell out of a stack of papers with colored inks and sticky notes.

And I keep resisting the following things for the WIP:

  • Entering Twitter pitch contests with my “Dresden Files meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer” query
  • Building my list of agents to query
  • Preparing a pitch for this second ms to take to the workshop with me
  • Asking for beta readers for the WIP

That said, it IS nice to have something else to focus on besides WHY ISN’T THIS BOOK GETTING AGENTED AND PUBLISHED NOWNOWNOW?????!!!

Leave a Reply

