Oh…hai…

Halllooooo there, Dear Readers! Thanks for sticking with me! I have a lot to tell you about so let’s get to it.

1. I had babies. Identical win boys whom I will refer to as Bean and Bug. After eight months of seeeerrrious sciatica and other discomforts, Bug was bigger and had more fluid in utero than Bean, and the doctors set me up to be induced on October 22. After eight hours of pitocin, I was having such minor contractions that I finally told the doctor I was open to consider a c-section because I really wanted to meet my kids. Bean was born at 7:01 and weighed 4 lbs 12 oz and Bug came along at 7:02, 6 lbs 9 oz. Bug ended up in the NICU for five days to strengthen his lungs and beyond that, both are healthy and awesome. There’s so much more to say about this whole experience but I’ll save that for a later post.

2. We lost my dad. When the boys were about 1 1/2 weeks old, at the beginning of November, my dad passed away at 71 after a 14-year-long battle with cancer. We had decided to stop all invasive treatments and let him go. My dad is the kindest, warmest person I have ever known. We thank heaven that we’ve had the twins to focus on during this first holiday season without him. Knowing he got to meet his grandsons before he went is a small comfort.

3. In August, I sent my manuscript for Daughter of Light to an agent. I’m always happy to get full requests so keep your fingers crossed.

4. I’ve been reading, but mostly parenting books. I did start the latest Game of Thrones book, and I read Divergent, which I will review in a later post.

I hope you had a really nice Thanksgiving and a great Christmas, and here’s to a lovely New Year.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

