The Writing Spider Post-Christmas Wrap Up 2012

newyearaheadIt is December 26 and the weather outside is truly frightful. Driving to work was like driving through a dirt slushie. It is raining AND snowing AND slushing.

It’s almost 2013 and that’s ok with me. 2012 was not…great…  I’m not going to detail all the sucko things that happened to me and or/my family and friends, but I will sum up thusly: 2013 can only be better than 2012. 2012 can go jump in a lake.

Onward and upward, my friends.

In writing news, I have been working on a trilogy. Like my first novel (which is still seeking representation), it doesn’t fit neatly into a Barnes & Nobel category. I’m thinking of it as an alternate history steampunk fantasy. I’m working hard on a female heroine whose goals do not include: getting a boyfriend, wearing Uggs, Olympic-level pouting, or being Very Pretty. I’ve appropriated World War II for my own use and I let England keep the colonies. Cue the calamity.

I’ve been reading quite a bit of female-protag YA and been widely disappointed by it, until I picked up Libba Bray’s “The Diviners” which is fantastic and restored my faith in well-written YA but also instilled a bit of intimidation – I’m not writing a book like this one, that’s for sure.

In terms of this blog, I know I’ve been neglecting my three and a half faithful readers. My post on teaching continues to be the most popular one, followed by all the Thug Life posts.

I’m going to continue to try to find representation for my first book, and soon I hope to have the second one ready for pitching.

Happy 2013, y’all!

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

