Career Counseling

I think I need a tri-fold business card. Lately my ‘work’ (it’s not really work yet, since I’m not being paid for most of it so ….yeah) entails copywriting, graphic recording, and cakery.  I’ve had some interesting client experiences in the last month or so. Tell me what you think.

Copywriting A few posts ago I told you about the guy who contacted me about ghostwriting. I predicted he would disappear. I was right! Before I even did the whole proposal thing! Maybe THAT’S why they call it ghostwriting… Clients become ghosts. Anyway, I kept emailing this guy and giving him all the times that week that I could meet with him. He works out of town a ways so it had to be a time that I could spend an hour to get there and an hour back. Finally, I called him and left a message. And…nothing. Never gonna hear from him again. There is a part of me that is afraid that I MISSED my big opportunity but most of me knew this was coming and it’s fine. I can only meet you halfway.

Then I got a call from a guy who wanted to talk about handing some of his work off to me. He’s like…the kind of copywriter I want to be when I grow up. Totally sustaining himself and his family on freelance copywriting work. LOVE that. He passed me a project right away and I didn’t charge much because it’s a test-drive sort of thing, I think. He didn’t give any feedback either way. I’d like to know if it was what he was looking for or not. I want to encourage this potential connection.

Next I got a call from a guy who’s starting up a company and is looking for a writer to do the writing. He gave me some materials so I could create a proposal. The materials included a proposal from the marketing/web design company he’s using. I’ve worked with this company before and the woman who runs it – again, kinda like to be her when I grow up – and I know they charge three and four and five times what I could charge. I agonized over my proposal! (SEE: MONEY, below) I sent it in and now…we wait. Hate the waiting.

Graphic recording Not much going on here, except two little things: I went to the headquarters of the networking group I’m part of and did a mural on the whiteboard about what they’re about. It came out awesome and soon I’ll have pics up at http://www.sarathompsonwrites.com. It’s a good venue to showcase the work. Then, I got an email from a state university here in Kentucky asking what I would charge for a day of graphic recording. When I didn’t hear back, I emailed and asked if they had any questions and they came back with, “We’re not using you.” I wrote back and asked, in effect, why, and never heard back.

I’m frustrated by not being able to explain graphic recording well enough that people go YES COME DO THAT AND I WILL PAY YOU. But I will keep on trying until I run out of cake.

Speaking of cake…

Cakery Since I’ve been out of work, I learned some cake decorating techniques. My mom gave me a gift certificate for classes and by clever use of JoAnn’s coupons,I managed to
do it pretty cheaply. I just completed my second real job – 525 cake pops for a friend. I have a business card and I’m preparing to create a page on facebook and possibly a
twitter account. I’m also working with a friend who did wedding cakes for 34 years and has graciously agreed to sherpa me through some cakes – as soon as I can get someone
to take me on.

I like where this is going. I like thinking of doing all these different things to support myself and my family. What I need now is more clients on all three fronts.

Leave a Reply

