Job Hunt 2010 Redux

I cannot believe it’s been almost a month of  jobloss… Where DOES the time go?

If you’re me, the time goes to sleeping, not sleeping, reading, buying cheap Christmas gifts on Ebay, drowning my sorrows in my friend C’s hot tub and a healthy glass of red wine, more not sleeping, doing my goofy Artist’s Way morning pages, going to networking meetings, requesting books from the library, avoiding JobFox, and putting up my holiday decorations.

Last time I was unemployed it took 3 months to jack up my sleep schedule. This time, it took a mere two weeks.

It’s ridiculously rainy right now which is not helping.

Let’s talk about networking meetings. I go and present myself as a writer/graphic recorder/facilitator. Most of the people there are looking for people to sell homes to or insurance or legal services. So it’s kind of weird for me to be there going, “You can’t write. Let me do it. I know you send out letters and brochures and newsletters and I bet they suck.” (I don’t REALLY say that, obviously.)  And they’re going, “Have you considered selling Aflac?”

I’m not a sales person. As Husband noted, “There are many things I can see you doing, and doing well. Sales is not one of them.” And it’s true. I also have little desire to be in sales.

I did meet some nice people but I’m not sure anything is going to pan out. It’s just like dating. They’re just not that into me.

I got a bunch of books from the library to teach myself more about visual communication and strategy so I can be a better graphic recorder/facilitator. I’m planning on putting up some short videos on my Professional Writer website, which I haven’t done because I need a haircut pretty badly (I look like a soccer mom right now and I’m not a soccer mom. Not even a mom. Or a soccer.)

Let’s list good things about being out of work.

  • If I wake up at 3 a.m. as I have been doing, and don’t go back to sleep until 6 a.m., it’s ok, because I don’t have to worry about going to work groggy.
  • Afternoon naps.
  • I can run errands when it’s not stupid busy at the grocery/pet store/gas station/hardware store.
  • House chores get done in bits and pieces, like the laundry I put in the dryer this morning to dry while I ate my breakfast.
  • I have time to make steel cut oatmeal for breakfast. And put in Nutella. And try not to eat the whole jar of Nutella at once.
  • I can stay out late on school nights.
  • I can go to all these networking lunch meetings without leaving work.
  • Lots o reading.

That’s all I can think of right now.

Sorry this post is so scattered. It’s a good reflection of what’s going on in my head these days.

4 Comments

  1. You’re doing okay…lots of reading is GOOD. There will be more jobs after the holidays are over anyway…see I’m good at rationalizing…and the days go by…

    I’m sure you will find something; you’re talented. And don’t forget it!

Leave a Reply

