Wow…and Welcome (again or for the first time)

If you’re just joining The Writing Spider after yesterday’s totally unexpected but entirely welcomed ‘Freshly Pressed’ designation, thank you and I’m glad to know you! I’m looking at everyone’s blogs if you put them in the comments of yesterday’s post. So many people shared snippets of their own stories, or comments on music and memory and I was really rather overwhelmed.

Overwhelmed in a good way though. In a “there are 79 different chocolate bars on my kitchen table which one should I enjoy first?” sort of way. Not overwhelmed in a “I have a dissertation due tomorrow and I haven’t done any of the research on the neuropathy of the rare Scandinavian sea slug” way.

I feel like I have to step up my blog game now, people! There’s pressure! (Also in a good way.) You’re out there paying attention! I hope you stick around because I enjoy the company.

As I flipped through comments and blogs, I thought about this concept of a soul tribe and I mentioned it a few times in my reply comments. The theory is that in the very beginning, souls were created in groups but when they came to earth to be born they were all flung far and wide.* So when you meet people from your soul tribe you have what feels like an instant connection. It’s not romantic love but it’s different from a friendship built over time. Your soul tribe is the people who “get” you without you explaining HOW to get you. All of this is to say, I’m glad to see some of my soul tribe showed up to the party.

*Disclaimer: the preceding may indeed be a lot of new age hooey. I like the story though and it helps me describe the relationship.

Photo op: That’s me on the right. My sister is in the middle and her gf is on the left. We try to do themes for our pictures. Top left: supposed to be a normal smiling picture but we weren’t ready. Top right: Surprised! Bottom left: Sad. Bottom right: So excited you can’t stand it!!

11 Comments

  1. Nice pics by the way!! πŸ™‚

    I “fear” that I must admit that I, too, have found your writing interesting. πŸ˜‰ So yey for writers, and yey for pictures, and yey for being Freshly Pressed!! (…because that is how I found your blog… whether this is a good or bad thing, we have yet to find out πŸ˜‰ I mean, you might get tired of me if I comment a fair bit… oh dear…)

    I look forward to reading more of your posts. πŸ™‚ I have already read back to March’s posts… maybe (bwahaha) I shall read back further. I LOVE your descriptions of the Thugs πŸ˜‰ but you never did say whether they left/got evicted or not… I am curious.

    Also, I like the concept of “soul tribe” – New Age hooey or not, it at least SOUNDS appealing, even if it’s not exactly the way things happen. But… who knows? πŸ™‚

  2. I read this and thought, what is a Freshly Pressed? Then I logged on to my blog, and…ohhhhhh….those are the featured blogs. I need to blog more often, and then I’d know things like that. πŸ˜‰ So, lots and lots of congratulations to you! It was a great blog post, and it certainly deserved the recognition.

    -Gail

  3. I love the idea of a soul tribe, it explains the way that sometimes you meet someone for the first time and you get on really really well and then you are always friends even if you hardly see each other. I have some fantastic friends like that.

Leave a Reply

