Readables

I haven’t been reading a ton lately, but I’ve finished a few books I’d like to talk about.

1. The Repossession Mambo, by Eric Garcia. I really enjoyed the film based on this book. I’m not normally a fan of stylized viscera but something about Jude Law can really change a girl’s mind. The book however…a hot mess of a snooze fest. The book follows Remy (the name from the film, not the book because honestly…I can’t remember the character’s name in the book), the best bio-repo man in the biz, and his best bud Jake as they slash their way to collect various artificial organs (artiforgs). I like this kind of sci-fi – it’s just believable enough to be scary because it might come true very soon. But the book tries to create tension by continually flashing around in time to Remy’s stint in the army stationed in Africa, his various five ex-wives, and the present when he’s on the run from the other repo men. There are vague foreshadows but it really ended up being a hot  mess. I was in a hurry to let the library repossess this one from me.

2. Miss Dahl’s Voluptuous Delights, by Sophie Dahl I’m one of those people who likes to read cookbooks like novels. Though I’m not a huge Sophie Dahl fan simply because I haven’t sought out her work but from what I’d seen, she’s charming and interesting so I picked up this one from the library. It’s  part cookbook part memoir of a foodie. The recipes are easy and the stories are accessible. Reminds me of Nigella Lawson only with simpler recipes.

3. Various collage books from the library I’ve become very interested in collage and got a couple of books on the subject. I was thinking, in the back of my mind, how much can a book teach me about gluing paper together? Turns out…a  lot. I’m excited to start working with the techniques described in the books and also some of the vintage photos I have procured, including a set of colorized French nudes and a bunch of postcards from the 20’s and 30’s.

Leave a Reply

