Mid-summertime and the living is FREAKING SWEATY

Yes, it’s that time of year again, Dear Readers, when the heat and humidity are no longer just annoyances, they are actual living things smushing you to their collective moist hot bosom. I came out of my house yesterday at 5:45 am and it felt just like when you get out of a half-hour-long superhot shower. It’s a real Kentucky summer. It always makes me think of that line in To Kill a Mockingbird: “Ladies bathed before noon, after their three-o’clock naps, and by nightfall were like soft teacakes with frostings of sweat and sweet talcum powder.” Only in real life it’s more like, “Women bathe but it’s pointless because by the time we get to the car we have mascara dripping to our chins like suburban zebras.”

Besides the heat, I’ve been chugging away at my New Job which I like very much.

In writing news, the big plan this year is to go to Dragon*Con. I admit I’ve always wanted to go to a con. I grew up watching the original Star Trek before church on Sundays, then the Next Generation on Saturday nights. Later there was Dr. Who and Red Dwarf and Deep Space Nine and X-Files and host of others. I read my fair share of sci-fi and fantasy books. And now I’ve written a strange little book that fits somewhere in the fantasy genre. Which I think is odd…I did a master’s program in Literature and assured my thesis committee that yes, I planned on writing Literary Fiction…

I’ve sent the manuscript to five beta readers. It’s been all I can do not to pester them with, “So? How is? How do you like it?” It’s weird having it OUT THERE.  My plan is to have it revised and ready to take to a writing workshop at Dragon*Con to be evaluated.  Very nerve-wracking, this novel-writing business. To distract myself, I’ve been reading a good bit and doing other things.

Leave a Reply

