Doing it ALL

Panic sets in when there’s free time. Like today – a few rainy hours at home alone, a bit of laundry tumbling in the dryer, and my Baroque Pandora channel chirping along. Here’s what happens in my head: Got to finish the novel, Facebook, the house could be cleaned, someone should go to the grocery, I want to research my fairy tale writing project, should read through creative writing opps listserve emails, Facebook, tea, read the Cherie Priest book from the library, buy brown tights, really should clean the house, update the blog, laundry is out of control, work on freelance site, Scot wants to look at cars, rainy Sundays are good for naps, Facebook, get ready for this week.

Wee meltdown ensues.

I know we only have so many hours in the day and we want more. And I’m slowly coming to realize several things.

1. Do Some of Some Things Every Day instead of doing every single thing every single day. Every day includes Working at My Job and Sleeping. Other categories are: Exercise, Reading, Writing (which has 47 sub-categories alone), Being Social, Houskeeping, Ferrets, Cooking/Baking, Family Obligations, Television, Stuff I Only Do Once A Year (like…clean out a closet), Shopping (for food, birthday presents, etc.), Crafts, and Other. If I can think of this like high schools’ block scheduling where you have English for 1 1/2 hours every other day…you do a little English but not every day.

2. Lower Your Expectations of Clean because really, it’s ok if there is an empty pizza box on the counter and husband’s clothes strewn all over the bedroom and there’s dust…everywhere.

3. Focus on one thing at a time instead of half-assing one thing while thinking of fourteen others. I like when my yoga teacher Nicole tells us in class that it’s our time and we don’t have to think.Perhaps I should tape record this and play it when I start a project.

I’m trying to be more flowy and think less super-long-term but not so short-term that I don’t have a clue beyond the end of my nose. I know this isn’t a revelation, people, you’ve been doing this for years and I’m just getting to the party, but it’s what I’ve been thinking of for a while. It’s hard for me to NOT PLAN sometimes but I feel like a loose hopeful plan is better than none. I’m still trying to find the balance.

Leave a Reply

