NaBloPoMo #4 – Networking Girl

(Ok this is for yesterday, #5 is on its way)

I went to a Networking Event last night. If I want to be a proper freelance writer, well, I’m going to have to hustle. The event was sponsored by a local law firm and put together by an an eclectic group of folks whose common goals include wanting to foster small businesses, and encourage women-owned and minority-owned businesses. I enjoyed it immensely and made what I hope will be some great contacts for my freelance career. It was a three-hour local networking event. 7-minute presentations by local business owners were sandwiched between1-minute speed-networking when we were encouraged to meet someone with whom we had not already spoken.

There’s more to this event for me than just finding clients. If you don’t know me, or you haven’t known me for long,  you might not know that I am, by nature, an introvert. Change = scary, meeting new people is like totally panic-inducing. I’ve worked for many years to overcome my shyness and build confidence. It surprises people to hear this – they can’t believe it! All I can say is, fake it ’till you make it. I took a Meyers-Briggs test last week that indicates I am no longer an INFJ, but an ENFJ. I have morphed from Introvert to Extrovert. Years ago, I might’ve gone to this networking event and simply stood back and let people come to me instead of working the room, business cards in hand.nablo1109.120x200

Leave a Reply

