The Story Update

     One whole short short story has been written! And…(drum roll)….a second one has begun! The second one is a seasonally themed bit, and I’m actually not sure if it’s as funny in real life as it is in my head. Like, I think it’s funny and clever but…will you? While I think about that a lot, I also think about the fact that I’m actually writing something, even if I never find a home for it outside of my hard drive. I don’t think the seasonal one  will have a home until next year when I can shop it around for Christmas publication.

     I think I might’ve found a groove, mixing life and work and writing. Sometimes I get up at 5:45 and write until 7, then get ready for work. Other times, I get up at 5:30 and go to the gym then write at night. At work, I keep jotting down little ideas for stories so that when I sit down to write, I automatically have fodder for the Muse.

     Neil Gaiman was asked how he finds ideas for stories and his reply was something like, “Look for them.” I’ve found this such a simple way to find story ideas. I know, I know, ‘Duh you idiot.’ But it helps as sort of a mantra – just look for ideas. just look for ideas. just look. For example, yesterday CNN ran a story about a piano found in the woods at the edge of a road. It was mysterious! Not the piano, the fact that it was perched in the middle of nowhere. AND it was in tune.  Bingo. That’s going to be a story for me some day so I wrote it in my Handy Dandy Notebook.

     I continue to have no answers about writing, but I have some clues.

Leave a Reply

