Dear Power Lines Guys…

    Nobody could have foreseen it and it couldn’t have been stopped. This is what happened in the week after, to me:

  Over the last week, I have consumed seventeen fast food meals, six sit-down-dinner meals, and several trips to Starbucks for coffee, tea and carbs. That is more fast food in one week than I had consumed in the year or so prior. 

     I have spent at least 15 hours reading in bookstores – I have read 187 pages of the first Twilightbook (eww…baaaaad….Meyers, you need to learn to use the word ‘myriad’ properly), started a Dresden Filesbook, and purchased several more. I’ve spent 15 hours reading in my bed by the light of nine tealights and an Itty Bitty Book Light thingy. I’ve finished at least one book and started 2 more.

     My iPhone has been my link to my e-world. I have checked my email 29 times. I have checked and/or changed my Facebook status ten times and 90% of them dealt with the fact that we had no power. I charged it up at work. I used it for an alarm clock during the week.

     I have tended six ferrets in the dark for eight days.

     I did not kill any of my neighbors nor inflict bodily harm on them as they: hooked up a roaring generator in the parking lot at 11:30 pm on a weeknight, rolled into the parking lot at 2, 4 and 5 a.m. blaring some sort of thug-thumping crap that woke me from a dead sleep, and held an impromptu party by the mailboxes at 12 midnight, complete with shrieking, lobbing beer bottles into the dumpster, and repeatedly screaming ASSHOLE at each other.

     I learned that Husband needs caffeine in the form of Starbucks and electricity in the form of the Internet and various PC games in order to feel whole and unbored. I learned that “atmosphere” in the form of encroaching darkness a la the film The Othersis only a good idea if Nicole Kidman and ghosts are involved. 

   I have discovered a previously untapped talent – I am the best drummer in RockBand on PS2 in the world. As long as it’s on EASY and I sort of know the song. I look like Animal from The Muppet Show but damn that game is fun.

    It is apparently perfectly acceptable to answer the question, “Can I help you find something?” with “No, I’m just enjoying your electricity…”

     I missed Project Runway, America’s Next Top Model, Coupling, and Ghost Hunters. I don’t mind. I got a bunch of books I can’t wait to read.

    We threw out perhaps $250 worth of food. We had just gone to Costco and I grocery shop every Saturday. I did mind. But it’s gone now and at least the fridge is clean.

     The dense quiet, wading into the black corners of my house, and the ability to hear the wind rush through the windows without straining over the fan, the electronic equipment, and someone’s AC were truly pristine moments. I can live without electricity and get by with a little help from my friends. I didn’t lose anything except my electricity. I have my house, my car, my family, my ferrets.

   Thank you LG&E, thank you KU, and Duke Energy. Thank you linemen who rushed back from Texas to lend a hand to the darkness back home. Thank you to the friends and neighbors who reached out, offered a place to stay, a couch to crash upon, or an invitation just to watch a cable TV movie.

Leave a Reply

