100 words: Starting the work

Finally got Butt in Chair (BIC) today and got 2,398 words written in a story that I hope will eventually be a novel. When writers talk about their challenges, I know BIC is mine. I am resistant to carving the time out of the solid rock of my life.

Today,  I’m feeling good about the work I did and I think this will be a good way to start. I know the tough times are coming, but for now, we’re still in the honeymoon phase.

I believe in signs. And tonight, as I wrote the last few pages of the chapter I’m working on, I worked on a scene that involves a rain storm with thunder and lightning. Just as I neared the end, real thunder rolled across my real life sky, nearly as I typed the word “thunder” in my book world. I feel it was a good sign. Helped me get in the mood. 

Leave a Reply

