100 words: Getting up early and procrastination

I used to be such a good little morning person. I’d get up at 5 with my dad and he’d make me breakfast. Then I watched cartoons. I’ve always been the sort of person who would rather do the hard work first, the things I’m not as excited about doing. So in college on the weekends I’d get up early, study until noon then have the rest of the day to enjoy as I wished.

I think the decline of my morning person cred started with my husband. In fact, I fully blame him. I never used the snooze button until we started sharing an alarm clock and he did. Husband is a reckless and pervasive user of the snooze button, a habit which I have unfortunately picked up. I used to be the kind of person who would stand incredulously over the snooze button pusher while he (or she, in the case of my college roommate) and loudly wonder why they can’t just set the alarm for the time they want to get up then GET UP when it goes off.

How the mighty have fallen.

Writers with busy lives often say they get up an hour earlier to write in the morning. They make it sound so easy. So why can’t I do this anymore? Get up early?

I think part of my problem is that I don’t really like what I have to do when I get up. I go to a job that I don’t love with people who are not dear and it makes me want to stay in bed as long as possible. I also stay up later at night because I somehow feel that if I don’t go to sleep, I won’t have to wake up and go to work.

 

Leave a Reply

