100 Words: Starting a Novel

I’ve been bouncing an idea for a novel around for a while. I think I’m ready to start. EEP. Now I’ve said it so I have to do it, right? I’ve been kicking it around for more than a year and it wasn’t until the last couple of weeks that I’ve started to WANT to write it. I’ve heard many artists talk about how a story or a subject will haunt them until they paint/write/sing about it. I do find that characters will follow me around poking me in the back, asking me to write their story. That’s great, except then I have to develop a great plot to go with my character. I’m a character-driven writer, not a plot-driven one. 

Since I’m overly prepared for things, I’m going to write an outline, get to know the world I’m writing about, and develop my characters first. This week, I’ve looked around for how other people have written novels. I’ve been reading some stuff at hollylisle.com and hope to start some preliminary work this weekend since it’s too wet to work in the yard.

 I feel that now I’ve written it down, I’ve started the commitment to write this thing. We’ll see. I always said I’d never be a novelist – short stories are much less commitment. But I feel the story I want to tell will be much larger than a short story.

Leave a Reply

