100 Words #2 – Lost Things

Yeah yeah, I didn’t do one yesterday. This one can be longer.

I want to find the place where all the lost things are. I started thinking about an episode of “The Twilight Zone” called ‘Wong’s Lost and Found Emporium.’ I started thinking about all the things that people lose that could be found. The usual stuff like socks, gloves, umbrellas. Pets get lost, too – gerbils, dogs, cats, ferrets. And then there’s the stuff that becomes harder to find once it’s lost – love, focus, drive, mojo.

I have lost things that I loved. I got my ears pierced when I was 12 and I wasn’t allowed to wear “dangly” earrings until I was 13. My mom gave me my first pair – little shell birds with a purple bead. They were beautiful. I wore them to our church’s fish fry and the whole time I rode the flying swings, I kept feeling them, making sure they were there. Years later, during a move to college or maybe my first apartment, one of the earrings vanished. I still have it’s mate.

Leave a Reply

